Return to Headlines

Assistant Superintendent Receives Leadership Award

Josh Swanson Eden Prairie Schools’ Assistant Superintendent Dr. Josh Swanson received the 2017 Outstanding Central Office Leader Award from the Minnesota Association of School Administrators (MASA).

“Dr. Swanson received this award for exhibiting a willingness to risk, possessing strong communications skills, being a progressive change agent, and having high expectations for himself and others,” according to a news release from MASA. He will be honored at a statewide recognition ceremony during the MASA/MASE Spring Conference, March 9 to 10.

Dr. Swanson and his team have led Eden Prairie Schools through a digital transformation preK-12, focusing on meeting the needs of each student in a personalized learning environment while also working to eliminate achievement and access disparities. Eden Prairie Schools has seen great gains over the past several years including third grade reading gaps closing, post-secondary attendance of graduates rising, and post-secondary success increasing across racial and socioeconomic groups.

Dr. Swanson has been an active member and leader in many professional associations over the past 15 years including: president of Phi Delta Kappa MN, chair of the TIES Coordinators, TIES Executive Board Coordinator representative and MASA Technology Component Group Region 9 board representative. He was a member of the team that initiated the conversation and creation of the MASA Technology Component group while working collaboratively with the Association and Educational Technology Leaders from across the state.

Dr. Swanson joined Eden Prairie Schools in October of 2012. He earned his bachelor’s degree from the University of St. Thomas, a master’s degree and post master’s certificates from St. Mary’s University, and was the recipient of the Outstanding Dissertation Award when he completed his doctorate in Educational Leadership from St. Mary’s University.

MASA is a professional organization of Minnesota’s school leaders including superintendents, assistant superintendents, directors of special education, and other central office administrators, as well as state department administrators, college and university professors, and other educators throughout Minnesota dedicated to educational leadership for students.