EPHS logo in white

Open Hour Permission

August 27, 2021

Dear Students and Parent(s)/Guardian(s),

The purpose of this letter is to inform you of the open hour and Junior/Senior privilege process for the 2021-2022 school year. 

With parent permission and criteria met (see form below for criteria), all Seniors and Juniors are eligible to leave EPHS during their lunch or open hour on their schedule each term. Juniors and Seniors will exit via the East or North doors by scanning their student ID. Re-entry will be via the North doors using the same ID scanning process. 

We ask that students and families maintain the open hour and off campus lunch commitment for the school year when possible. By committing to leave campus daily for open hour and lunch time, we will be able to ensure that we can effectively plan for student placement in the physical spaces of our building while adhering to our COVID-19 safety protocols. 

To ensure safety for all, it is imperative that students sign in and out of the building each day. Students are expected to stay at a minimal distance of 3 ft apart as they wait to sign in and out when accessing the building. We expect all students with the agreed upon privileges to represent and exhibit exemplary behavior while off campus at all times. Loss of privilege and/or a family conference with an administrator will be scheduled, if school expectations are not continually followed.  

At EPHS, we take pride in the relationships we build with our students and look forward to this continued partnership in safety and responsibility.

Both forms below need to be completed to leave campus during open hour and/or lunch:

  1. Parents/guardians, please complete and sign this form, allowing your student to leave the building during their open hour and/or lunch.  
  2. Students, please complete and sign this form confirming that you have read and agreed to our expectations around leaving campus for your open hour and/or lunch.

In Partnership,

Meg Bennett, Associate Principal
Clayton Ellis, Associate Principal
Victor Johnson, Associate Principal

Kitty Hallin Payne, Dean of Students
Abdirashid Saney, Dean of Students
Taneisha Smith, Dean of Students