About the School Board

  • The Eden Prairie School Board consists of seven elected community members, each elected for a four-year term (except in 2017 and 2019, which are 3 year terms; 4 year terms return in 2020). Superintendent Josh Swanson serves as an ex-officio board member and is responsible for implementation of board policies and directives.


    School Board meetings are held twice a month. The board holds a Workshop on the second Monday of each month, and holds its Regular Business Meeting on the fourth Monday of each month, both at 6 p.m., unless otherwise indicated*.  Workshops and Regular Business Meetings are located at the Administrative Services Center, 8100 School Road, Eden Prairie. All board meetings are open to the public, except those specifically permitted by law to be “closed” for discussion of identified issues such as negotiation strategy or litigation (pursuant to Minnesota statutes).


    As the elected governing body of Eden Prairie Schools, the School Board is responsible for:

    • Establishing and monitoring school board policies. Eden Prairie School district administration implements district policy and supervises school operations. 
    • Employing and evaluating the Superintendent, the chief executive who oversees all operations of the school district. 
    • Developing and approving an annual work plan for the 2018-2019 school year in accordance with Board Policy GP 4.3. Adjustments and additions are made throughout the year as needed to accomplish the Board’s work.
    • Advocating for students with state lawmakers. 
    • Establishing and approving the annual budget and audit.
    • Setting the annual local school levy. 
    • Working with the administration to determine the district's educational goals. 
    • Interpreting the needs of the community regarding the educational program. 
    • Communicating with stakeholders. 
    • Ratifying employee contracts.


    Like most Minnesota school boards, Eden Prairie Public Schools offers a stipend for School Board service. Members of the School Board receive a stipend of $4,800 per year.